More reviews & British Fantasy Society

by | Jun 16, 2023 | Reviews | 0 comments

If you didn’t know, I’ve been writing regular reviews for the British Fantasy Society for about eight months now. I must say it is real fun. Some of my top-list books came through the BFS. I can’t help mentioning The Coral Bones by E. J. Swift, or the Quirk and Moth series by Robin C.M. Duncan I’ve discovered only last month. There were also The Surviving Sky by Kritika N. Rao with the most vivid worldbuilding and brilliant Terraformers by Annalee Newitz.

It was my greatest pleasure and honour to review those and quite a few other books. They made me think about so many things; they taught me stuff about crafting stories as well. But I realise that there is no point in reposting all those reviews here. Especially, since the BFS website looks simply gorgeous now.

I will just leave you some links to follow if you’d like to read more of my book reviews.

The Mandroid Murders by Robin C.M. Duncan: https://britishfantasysociety.org/the-mandroid-murders/

And Put The Childish Things Away by Adrian Tchaikovsky: https://britishfantasysociety.org/and-put-away-childish-things-by-adrian-tchaikovsky/

The Coral Bones by E. J. Swift (now nominated for the Arthur C. Clarke award 2023): https://www.britishfantasysociety.org/reviews/the-coral-bones-by-e-j-swift-from-unsungtweets-bookreview-cli-fi/

The Terraformers by Annalee Newits: https://britishfantasysociety.org/26459-2

The Surviving Sky by Kritika N. Rao: https://britishfantasysociety.org/the-surviving-sky/

The Adventures of Amina Al-Sirafi by Shannon Chakraborty: https://britishfantasysociety.org/26617-2/

Reluctant Immortals by Gwendolyn Kiste: https://britishfantasysociety.org/reluctant-immortals-by-gwendolyn-kiste/

Wayward by Hannah Mathewson: https://britishfantasysociety.org/wayward-by-hannah-mathewson-from-titanbooks-bookreview-fantasy/

Burrowed by Mary Baader Kaley: https://britishfantasysociety.org/burrowed-by-mary-baader-kaley-from-angryrobotbooks-bookreview-scifi-dystopian/

Ion Curtain by Anya Ow: https://britishfantasysociety.org/ion-curtain-by-anya-ow-from-rebellion-bookreview-sf/

Tread of Angels by Rebecca Roanhoarse: https://britishfantasysociety.org/tread-of-angels-by-rebecca-roanhorse-from-solaris-bookreview-fantasy-crime/

Follow the links, read the reviews, and then read those books if you haven’t already! Because they are great!

 

More reviews:

Full Immersion by Gemma Amor

Full Immersion by Gemma Amor

One of the motivations for me to read “Full Immersion” by Gemma Amor was the title. Yes, I read the blurb of the book eventually, and I understood that “Full immersion” would likely refer to the protagonist’s experience – the technological innovations and experimental treatment she gets.

read more
The Ink Black Heart by Robert Galbraith

The Ink Black Heart by Robert Galbraith

Over 1000 pages makes a long detective story, but Galbraith’s series moved into that direction, starting with the fourth book, which crossed the 700-page threshold. However, despite being very detailed, the narrative manages to keep the reader invested into the story.

read more

0 Comments

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *